Data & Facts

The Kingdom of Bhutan is a landlocked country in South Asia at the Eastern end of the Himalayas. It is bordered to the south, east and west by India and to the north by Tibet (China). The Bhutanese call their country Druk Yul which translates as "Land of the Thunder Dragon".

Bhutan was isolated for a long time, partially due to its geography, from the rest of the world and politically withdrawn. It only opened in the 1970’s.

As a result, Bhutan has preserved its unique culture and is seeking to balance its rich cultural heritage and biodiversity with a moderate development strategy.

The previous King of Bhutan, His Majesty Jigme Singye Wangchuck, was the driving force behind the development and modernization of Bhutan. The constitution was discussed by Parliament in its first session in 2008 and consequently adopted. Similar to England, Bhutan changed from an absolute monarchy to a parliamentary constitutional monarchy.

Population 740.000
Location Eastern Himalayas; Bhutan is bordered by Tibet to the north and the Indian states of Assam and West Bengal to the east, west and south.
Area 38.394 km2
Altitude 180 to 7550 m above sea level
Capital Thimphu
Local Time GMT + 6 hours
Religion Buddhism
Other Religions Hinduism, Bon-Religion, Christianity, Islam
National Day 17th of December: In memory of the coronation of Ugyen Wangchuk, the first King of Bhutan, at the Punakha Dzong.
National sport Archery
National tree Cypress
National flower Blue Poppy
National bird Raven
National animal Takin
Official Language Dzongkha
Economy Agriculture and livestock breeding contribute about 35 % to GNP. More than 90% of the people live on subsistence farming. Farms are narrow pieces of land cut into terraces on hill slopes. Forestry contributes 15 % to GNP; industry and mining: 10% to GNP.