Religion

Bhutan is a deeply spiritual country. This is reflected in the numerous Chorten (religious shrines, called "Stupas" in India, "Pagodas" in China and "Chorten" in Tibet) which are set in the beautiful landscapes, the religious paintings of Buddhist saints and shrines that can be found in almost every house.

The holy Tibetan Lama Guru Rinpoche, also called "Padmasambhava" (the Lotus-born), brought Tantric Mahayana Buddhism to Bhutan in the 8th century. Guru Rinpoche is still worshiped as the founder of Buddhism in Bhutan.

Bhutan is the only country that maintains Mahayana Buddhism in its Tantric Vajrayana form as its state religion. Buddhism is the dominant religion with 72% of the population being Buddhist and shapes the country in every way. Hinduism forms the second largest religion with 25% believers.

More than 10,000 Chorten and over 2,000 monasteries bear witness to the importance of Buddhism and characterize the distinguished architectural scenery of the country. Some of them are national treasures such as the Taktshang, the "Tiger's Nest", near the city of Paro in the west of the county. Located high on steep cliffs, it is one of the landmarks of Bhutan.

The traditional architecture of the Dzongs, the historic fortified monasteries in Bhutan, is particularly unique and a visible expression of Bhutanese culture influenced by Buddhism: All components, proportions, colors and symbols have a deeper religious significance such as keeping away evil demons.

In each of the 20 districts (Dzongkhags) one of these monastery fortresses can be found. Since the time of Shabdrung Ngawang Namgyal, the founder of the unified Bhutan in the 17th century, they are religious centers and the seat of the administrations of the respective district at the same time. Therefore, each of these fortresses consists of a religious and a secular part.

The Punakha Dzong is the holiest and most important Dzong in Bhutan and plays an important historical role. The name Pungtang Dechen Dzong Photrang means "the palace of great happiness or bliss". The Dzong is located at the confluence of the Pho Chhu (father) and Mo Chhu (mother) rivers in the Punakha–Wangdue valley.

The Phunaka Dzong is not only the winter residence of the Je Khenpo, the spiritual leader of the country, and 500 monks, but also the place where all the kings of Bhutan are crowned until today.

Religion

Bhutan ist ein tief spirituelles Land. Davon zeugen die unzähligen Chorten (Reliquienschreine, die man in Indien „Stupa“ nennt, in Tibet „Chörten“ und in China „Pagode“) die malerisch in der Landschaft liegen sowie die religiösen Gemälde von buddhistischen Heiligen und die Schreine, die fast in jedem Haus zu finden sind.

Der heilige tibetische Lama Guru Rinpoche, auch „Padmasambhava“ (der Lotusgeborene) genannt, brachte im 8. Jhd. den tantrischen Mahayana Buddhismus nach Bhutan. Guru Rinpoche wird heute noch als der Gründer des Buddhismus in Bhutan verehrt.

Bhutan ist das einzige Land, das den Mahayana Buddhismus in seiner Tantrischen Vajrayana-Form als Staatsreligion pflegt. Buddhismus ist die vorherrschende Religion (72 %) und beeinflusst das Land in jeder Hinsicht. Hinduismus ist mit 25 % die zweitgrößte Religion.

Mehr als 10.000 Chorten und über 2.000 Klöster zeugen von der Wichtigkeit des Buddhismus und prägen das architektonische Bild des Landes. Einige von ihnen sind nationale Schätze, wie der Taktshang, das „Tigernest“ in der Nähe der im Westen des Landes gelegenen Stadt Paro. Es thront hoch oben auf steilen Felsklippen und ist eines der Wahrzeichen Bhutans.

Die traditionelle Architektur der Dzongs – so heißen die historischen Klosterburgen in Bhutan - ist besonders einzigartig und sichtbarer Ausdruck der bhutanischen, vom Buddhismus geprägten Kultur: Alle Komponenten, Proportionen, Farben und Symbole haben eine tiefere religiöse Bedeutung wie zum Beispiel das Fernhalten böser Dämonen.

In jedem der 20 Distrikte (Dzongkhags) Bhutans gibt es eine dieser Klosterfestungen, die seit der Zeit von Shabdrung Ngawang Namgyal, dem Gründer des vereinigten Bhutans im 17. Jahrhundert, religiöses Zentrum und zugleich Sitz der Verwaltung des jeweiligen Distrikts sind. Daher besteht jede dieser Festungen aus einem religiösen und einem weltlichen Teil.

Der Punakha-Dzong ist der heiligste und wichtigste Dzong Bhutans und spielt eine besondere historische Rolle. Der Name Pungtang Dechen Photrang Dzong bedeutet übersetzt „der Palast des großen Glücks oder Glückseligkeit“. Eingebettet zwischen dem Mo Chhu (Mutter) Fluss und Pho Chhu (Vater) Fluss, ist es die einzige Klosteranlage, die nicht von massiven Mauern umgeben ist.

Der Phunaka Dzong ist nicht nur die Winterresidenz des Je Khenpo, dem religiösen Oberhaupt des Landes, und 500 Mönchen, sondern auch der Ort, wo alle Könige von Bhutan gekrönt wurden und werden.